Kickstarter: Week 3

From the moment I started to learn how to run a Kickstarter campaign I have encountered a lot of conflicting opinions about it. “It is an excellent way to connect with your fans and raise funds” vs “Having to beg is the most humiliating fundraising experience” vs “Kickstarter is Capitalism at it’s worse” vs. “Kicstarter is the Ultimate Democracy”. Where is the Truth?

I don’t know about Ultimate Truth, no pants fit all sizes. I know about what is good for me. Kickstarter is good for me.

Here I was, for three years doing what I enjoy doing – making stuff and drawing creatures.  Not every day of those three years was the best of my life – work is only work when you have to do it (when you don’t have to do it, it is a hobby). But still – it is a comfort to know that you know how to do something. And to see results.

But then one sunny day you run into a financing wall. And you turn to Kickstarter as the only possible saviour, because, all things considered (we we have considered them all) it is, indeed, your only option.

With it’s “all or nothing” rule Kickstarter raises the stakes really high. We have gotten to more than half of the goal and we still might lose it all if we are short at the end. This makes you desperate and you work harder.

But working harder is not the trick. We all work very hard. It is the ability to get out of your zone of comfort and do things that you’d normally wouldn’t do, that makes the difference. Like, making cold calls to people you don’t really know. Emailing strangers out of the blue. Contacting press and begging for coverage. Posting on your Facebook page repetitive messages. Tweeting the same thing 12 times a day. Being on Social Media sites most of the day.

50 per cent you get rejected, poked at, and shunned.  And 50 per cent you get encouraged and connected.

The first 50 per cent pain me, I cringe on outside and scream inside. But without that pain you can’t get to the wonderful part of your Kickstarter campaign – the support of your amazing community. Connecting with the people who believe in the film – and by taking part in the campaign they make the film their own. And that’s the idea.

Every morning I leave my safe little house, vulnerable like a snail, and look up. Will it be salt coming from above burning my sensitive skin or flow of nourishment and water? The moment of not knowing, the anxiety of anticipation.

Snail copy

“Rocks In My Pockets” Kickstarter campaign ends in 12 days.

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kickstarter: Week 3

  1. Jud says:

    BTW, just for the record, a 2% response rate is considered the norm in any PR campaign! 🙂

  2. Esn says:

    You’re familiar with Kicktraq I guess?
    http://www.kicktraq.com/projects/1055277857/rocks-in-my-pockets/

    I think you’re going to make it. There’s always a spike in the last few days. Generally speaking, any project that gets over the 50% mark has a very good chance of making it, even if there’s not much time left. Just look at what happened to Parallela:
    http://www.kicktraq.com/projects/adapteva/parallella-a-supercomputer-for-everyone/#chart-exp-projection

  3. Kirk says:

    Just kicked in my share on Kickstarter! Good luck, Signe.

Leave a Reply

