Kill Your Darlings.

There are series of writers and filmmakers from Plato to Woody Allen who give an advise: – Kill your darlings.

It doesn’t quite make sense (why should I edit out the stuff I really like?) till comes a moment in your life when a handsome darling stands in your way of telling a really compelling story.

That moment comes more often that not especially if you (like me) don’t have a storyboard.

Recently I shot a stop motion sequence which I really liked. The shadows, the mood, the strangeness of moves – I liked everything about it. But when I put it in the time line, it was too long and too distracting from what the scene was about.

Instead of killing, though, I decided to put in on the blog.

Here it is:

 

The black chess pieces represent the dark mental forces that hold one of the film’s characters captive. The Queen wants to have her tea served.

Let’s see if she gets it.

 

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in The Work in Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kill Your Darlings.

  1. gnoonan says:

    Yet another piece of brilliant advice so generously shard.

    • gnoonan says:

      Oops, I meant to say “shared” not “shard”.

      • Shard is good, as good as shared!
        Here’s Wikipedia on ‘shard” :
        Sherd, a piece of glass, pottery or stone, e.g. sea glass
        Elytron, a forewing found on some insect species
        Shard End, a place in Birmingham
        The Shard, a skyscraper in London, United Kingdom
        Slang for the drug methamphetamine, referring to its shard-like crystals

  2. Jud says:

    “Here it is:”

    Where??? 🙂

    • Jud, the Quick Time of the darling that got booted should be in the post. But this morning the file took a LOOONG time to get processed by WordPress. I think (and I might be wrong) that it was because I had word “kill” in the title. Maybe moderators were making sure it was the right kind of ‘kill’? In any case, the QT is on and operating now, you should be able to see it.

  3. Jessica Pol... says:

    Ooh i really like the choreography!

Leave a Reply

