Depression Question: What do you do?

Thank you for submitting your questions about depression. We selected the 3 of them that had a common theme. The other 3 we’ll reply in the next episode. Please, note, by “we” I mean me and Wendy, who videotapes the conversations. I sometimes worry that you might think I am seeing things, which I am (this table, this laptop) but not all the time.

I was also thinking if I am going too far by admitting to my mental condition. Some things are good to keep secret (the condition of my underwear, the ingredients of my lentil soup, the feeling of anger) but there are a few secret things that are better to be told (the blister on my foot that makes me limp, the toothache that renders me incapable of clear thought). How do I know what to keep secret and what to reveal?

But here I am again, revealing it all, with no protective underwear.

Please, submit your Depression Question in the comments below. Thank you!

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in Depression Question, Depression. Personal Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Depression Question: What do you do?

  1. Sara Lola says:

    Thank you Signe xoxoxo sending lots of Love, hope and hugs as I feel exactly the same way xoxoxox

    Sara

    On Tue, Aug 21, 2012 at 12:10 PM, Signe Baumane wrote:

    > ** > rocksinmypocketsthemovie posted: “Thank you for submitting your > questions about depression. We selected the 3 of them that had a common > theme. The other 3 we’ll reply in the next episode. Please, note, by “we” I > mean me and Wendy, who videotapes the conversations. I sometimes worry that > y”

  2. Lance says:

    bravo and thank you for including “…if you don’t suffer from it, you could never really relate…” I am passing this on to the MDSG.org group. Can’t wait to see your recent work and someday meet you –john lance harrison –Here’s the several minute film I made on such topic SIGNE >>

  3. Jud says:

    Signe! You are awesome! 🙂

  4. rozi says:

    Hi Signe, I have been following your blog with much interest, both as an animator, and someone who has suffered from depression. I’ve not yet been brave enough to tackle this subject, and I really can’t thank you enough for sharing this blog, especially the last posts. I wish this wasn’t the case, but it is a huge relief to hear from someone with similar ‘experiences’, and very inspiring to hear the strategies you use to overcome it. Other folk have already asked the good questions, so mine will be ‘ How did you arrive at the decision to make this film?’…. although what I really want to know is that really annoying question ‘ When can we see the finished film ?!’ x

    • Rozi, I dont know when we’ll be able to post another Depression Question episode with me answering questions – we have 3 episodes lined up with other people answering questions, which is very exciting! If you would like, we could interview you, too….
      So, to answer you question about “Rocks” – the decision to make it came out of the deep depression episode in late 2009. It seems obvious choice to make a film about it.
      We are working towards March 12th deadline. But we’ll have private audience test screenings in October – would you like to be part of it? Are you in/near New York?

  5. eha says:

    Thanks for sharing how you cope with depression! You have a lot of compassion and willpower!

    • Hmm…. I guess I have developed compassion (I didn’t have much of it when I was 20) because it is part of my coping. Feeling for other people brings me out of the narrow claustrophobic world of my own feelings and pain.
      Being selfish gives a short term pleasure, being selfless can bring long term happiness. That said, I am NOT selfless, just trying to balance between being too selfish and less selfish. : )

  6. Hi Signe, Love your work and more so your honesty about the emotional difficulties you go through to in your process of working. I wish I had magic words that could make it better but…

  7. Pingback: Depression Question: Nick. | Signe Baumane

  8. Pingback: Depression Question: Ivey. | Signe Baumane

Leave a Reply

