9/11 drawings

On the morning of 9.11.2001 I was at home, a couple of blocks away from World Trade Center. Before the towers collapsed I run away, was homeless for 5 days and finally returned to my place on Sunday. After cleaning the dust (without a mask and without gloves) on Tuesday, a week after the tragedy, I sat down and started to draw. I didn’t know how else to process the pain and shock I felt, the altered inner and outer landscape.

Here are those drawings. They seem naive to me now, after 10 years. But they still contain the truth of that moment, the obsessive attempt to understand the incomprehensible.

Angel of Destruction

Cardboard Box Stage

Stage

Four Kings on Wings

I didn't Want Them To Fall

In the Countryside

Airplane

Safe Under Umbrellas

Falling Up

Towers in Sky

Towers in Sky

Tree and Death

Umbrella Didn't Protect

World In Eye

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in Depression. Personal Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

