Fundraising. Story 3

If you are an independent artist who doesn’t have a steady money flow, you better get good with numbers. I  was born with number’s deficiency, but I developed a skill to approach the numbers pragmatically.
For example, there is this new thing that everybody is crazy about at the moment – Kickstarter, the greatest fundraising tool!
Why I am not on it?
Oh, I am intrigued beyond belief, believe me! I think it is the greatest tool! Just maybe not for fundraising.
First, when you go to Kickstarter, one thing you notice right away- the fundraising goals of the posted projects are very modest –
from $700 to $10,000. But I need $100,000 for my feature!!!
The other thing you notice, that each fundraising goal has a deadline, a strictly imposed date. If you post $5000 as your  goal and by the stated deadline you have raised only $4999, you don’t get the money, it all goes back to whoever contributed to your project. Of course, in such case you might be tempted to donate to your project the missing $1, but what if you raised $3000? Will you donate to your project the missing $1000 to get the $3000? Keep in mind, Kickstarter takes 10 per cent of the money raised…
But the thing that keeps me away from Kickstater for now is their insistence that you give something back for every donation. Photos from your project, little drawings, pencils bearing your signature etc etc.
One live action filmmaker recently raved enthusiastically about Kickstarter.
– We raised $2000 for our short film! – he boasted.
– Wow! Congratulations! – I was impressed.
– It was the hardest 5 weeks in my life, – he admitted.
– How so?
– Well, I had promised that each donation will get an original poem from me. I had to write hundreds of poems, put them in envelopes and mail them. I spent huge amounts of time in post office, and long sleepless night raking brains to get inspiration to write those darn poems.
– So, 5 weeks of hard labor brought you $2000. Meanwhile, you were unable to work on your film. Wouldn’t you’ve been better off by getting a temp job?
– Ah! – his eyes opened wide. The thought of putting the numbers of days of work against numbers of money had never occurred to him.
– I see it now! – he said. – You’re right! But I would never go back and exchange those 5 weeks for 5 weeks of a better paid temp job. I connected with my core audience, with people who love the project so much they were willing to give up $5-$20 of their hard earned money. It was hundreds of people! It was unbelievable!
So that’s exactly my point – Kickstarter might not be a reasonable way to raise money but it is a great way to connect with your potential audience.


 

 

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in Fundraising and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

