City Riga vs Paper Mache

One of the characters in my film is Riga, the capital of Latvia.
I thought it would be interesting to involve buildings in action and reaction.
So I did a research of Riga’s architecture, which is very special version of Art Nouveau Jugendstil,
marked by presence of faces, animals and forest spirits.
I found faces like this:

And buildings like that:

But then I was faced with the problem – how to make the faces and buildings
work for my film?
Paper mache came in handy. Hey, and a great, creative intern Sam Hayes was very helpful too!
Here’s his version of a Riga’s building:

And here is mine:

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in The Work in Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to City Riga vs Paper Mache

  1. Those paper maché models look great. Like paintings.

    I bet they’ll be very exciting on film.

  2. Lui Lui says:

    Love the paper mache building. It’s interesting to see how a building can become live in an animation.

Leave a Reply

