It all started in my brain…

It all started in my brain.
First, experiencing depression,
then – conceiving an idea to make a film about it.
I’ve always found it soothing while being robbed at a gunpoint telling myself a story of me being robbed at a gunpoint.
It takes an edge off the pain, the horror of reality.
But how the idea leaves one’s brain and forces it’s way into reality?
I wrote a script in January 2010, then rewrote it with the help of Twilight Theater artistic director Sturgis Warner
who also primed me for the reading by rehearsing for 7 weeks.
Am sure from his point of view it was like training one-trick pony to do 5 tricks, very hard on the pony, you know. Am not an actor
but I love to perform.
Then we employed Rob Daly, the great sound designer (he worked on my “Birth”) and went to Ovasen sound recording studio where
under direction of Sturgis and wisdom of Rob we recorded the voice over.
That day – on June 9th, 2010 the idea opened the door and looked into the bright sun of reality.
The recorded voice over is the start of this animated feature, it is it’s blueprint, it’s template, its DNA and its beginning and the end.

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in Hazards of being an artist, The Work in Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It all started in my brain…

  1. Brett W. Thompson says:

    Wow, fascinating!!! I love behind-the-scenes stuff like this and I think it’s wonderful you’re making a film using depression!

Leave a Reply

