Entertainment Film vs Personal Film.

What is the future of independent film? The two animators poke at the future with their best guesses.

 

Bill Plympton has a Kickstarter campaign for his new film “Cheatin’”.

About rocksinmypocketsthemovie

I was born in Latvia, educated in Moscow, live in New York. I have made about 14 animated shorts so far.
This entry was posted in Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Entertainment Film vs Personal Film.

  1. Roger says:

    Hey Signe, the sound level is really low. Tried to watch it on the ipad, can’t hear it well enough. I’ll watch again when I get to my workstation where I can blast the audio. The idea that making a film for a small audience isn’t as valid as making a film for a mass audience is oh so 20th century. Its ironic watching Bill talk about this issue. I heard the very same argument being made by other animators (I wont name names) that accused Bill of making films for nobody, obviously a rather short sighted opinion as history has proved.

    • Roger, yes, the sound level is low, one has to crank the sound a bit up, or listen on headphones. It was shot on Sandrine’s iPhone, it could have been placed closer, but I had no control over that. That said, I am impressed with iPhone’s ability to do what it does.
      We are thinking of ways to raise video quality, but it costs money and all the $$$ we have go towards making the film.
      I think Bill is amazing. He’s set an example what an independent animator can do with his work. He believes in his formula, wanting other animators to succeed he confronts us when we stray away from this formula (making comedy aimed at majority of people).
      But I have been watching what is happening in independent film scene for the last 10 years – and whatever I see makes me believe that there is a new formula. We independents can’t compete with Hollywood budgets and the spectacle they are able to create, so we have to offer what Hollywood doesn’t – personal take on a strong subject and experiments with storytelling forms.
      The future will reveal itself at some point – but hopefully not on Friday when the End of the World takes place.
      : )

  2. Cecile Somers says:

    “All stories are about people.” I agree. I think the whole world is about people. Which is why I am perturbed by the recent reading of something Eleanor Roosevelt said: “Great minds talk about ideas. Average minds talk about events. Small minds talk about people.”

    Really?

    I agree with Bill that a movie should entertain (and it can do that à la Thomas Vinterberg). I cannot wait to be entertained by the Rocks in Your Pocket (whoo, I like the sudden inuendo of that :-)

    • It’s funny you should mention Thomas Vinterberg, another friend of mine just mentioned him in the same discussion. I think you should be friends! : )
      As to Eleanor Roosevelt quote – she was standing too close to politics, politics are indeed all about ideas, only vaguely connected to people.
      Great politicians, though, are all about people.
      “Rocks” will entertain you, I promise – it has bits of Latvian history, a take on man’s nature, a journey of genes that were sowed on 1930ties and reaped in 1990ties, the story has high stakes and hopeful happy ending. How about that for a viewing experience?

  3. I can hear both of you fine, Great Conversation. as the maker of a recently described as ,heartbreaking, depressing, film that has been enjoyed by many, I defend that sorrow is indeed a fine meal, when properly prepared. Consuming Spirits, my feature animation manages to be sad and funny. some people could not take it, but many more seamed to love it. Mike Kelly in his Art 21 interview mentions “negative joy.” and perhaps that is what is what we depressing animated filmmakers are hooked on.
    Paul Ferlinger at the end of a room near by states, This film is in honor of loneliness, which brings with it introspection.” (pardon possible paraphrasing) And Bill I must tell you some of the strongest moments in your work, are not funny at all, but movingly desperate. (Than man pulling his wings off in the bathroon of Angels and Idiots)
    I toast dark independent feature animations. see Wrinkles, Crulic, Waltze with Brashir.
    and dark shorts, the formentioned, Junkyard, Oh Willy, Skhizein, Ryan.
    chris sullivan

Leave a Reply

